Young AthletesPresentation

Young Athletes 2008 Awards

Having cancelled 3 weeks earlier due to the heavy snow fall the Young Athletes Awards Presentation Night was rearranged for Tuesday 24th February. And what a night !

The Clubroom was packed to the rafters, all seats taken, many having to stand around the edges.

The YA committee would like to sincerely thank Jeanette Kwakye (2008 Beijing Olympic Games 100m finalist) for attending to present the numerous awards to the young athletes. Also. Thanks to Jean Burgess (herself a 2008 winner of a Jack Petchey Leaders Award) for compering most of the night. Our club President John Hayward introduced the nostalgic and inspirational video of Derek Johnson winning 800m silver medal at the 1956 Olympics. Special praise goes to Cowsi Magol for preparing and arranging the rousing music/photo display and technical set-up. Much appreciation goes to Christine Foy for providing the refreshments on the night




Congratulations to all the Young Athletes who through their endeavours won awards.

Jack Petchey Award  Winners:

Gemma Murray

Natasha Matthews

Georgina Ferrari

Jessica Docking

Dan Yaxley

Darren Southcott

Robert Meadows

Aex Cornwell


Club Cross Country Championship Medals



Gold medal

Silver medal

Bronze medal

U13 Girls

Ellie Foster

Stephanie Smith


U13 Boys

Harry Docking



U15 Girls

Georgina Ferrari

Sophie Fuhr

Amy Doyle

U15 Boys

Liam Blaikie

Chris Sear

James Stockings

U17 Women

Claudia Conway

Becky Hewitt

Kate Stockings

U17 Men

Robbie Meadows

Alex Cornwell

Dan Yaxley

U20 Women

Georgie-Lou Sales

Jessica Docking

Amelia Holford

U20 Men

Ronnie Sparke

Gavin Lewis

Angus Holford


Young Athlete  Awards

u13 girl,   Hannah Patti Bellili,

u13 boy,  Joesph Dewar,

u15 girl,  Sophie Fuhr.

u15 boy  Liam Blaikie.

u17 girl   Chloe Galloway

u17 man Anthony Oshodi,

Team Managers Award : Kate Stockings

Roger Bannister Award  Alex Cornwell .